Legal Writing Scholarship Grants

LWI and ALWD select recipients of competitive scholarship grants.

These grants, which are also funded through generous donations by LexisNexis, reflect the three organizations’ commitment to the professional development of legal research and writing professionals.

Recipients are full-time or adjunct professors teaching legal writing who demonstrate great promise in their pursuit of a particular scholarly project. Any full time or adjunct professor of legal writing may apply, though the dollar amount of the grant could depend on the successful applicant’s ability to obtain scholarship stipends at his or her home school.

 2016 LWI-ALWD-LexisNexis Scholarship Grants

The Boards of Directors of LWI and ALWD are pleased to announce that the grant winners and names of the proposals for 2016 are as follows:

Kevin Bennardo, The Third Precedent

Howard Bromberg, Stance-taking in Students' Legal Writing: Implications for the Teaching of Legal Skills

Christopher R. Trudeau, The Public Speaks, Again: An International Study on Preferences for Legal Communication


Prior Recipients

The following people have received scholarships over the past few years. Please feel free to contact them for advice about their applications. 

2010:  Danton Berube, Christopher R. Trudeau, Amanda L. Smith, Alison Kehner & Maryann Robinson (one grant), Jennifer Lear, Michelle Falkoff

2011:  Jacob Carpenter, Christine Cerniglia, Heidi Brown, Sarah J. Morath & Ann Schiavone (one grant), Pam Jenoff

2012:  Debra Austin, Anne E. Ralph, Meehan Rasch

2013: Elizabeth R. Baldwin, Jodi S. Balsam, Amy Bitterman

2014:  Heather D. Baum, Clare Keefe Coleman, Jane Bloom Grise, Christine Venter

2015:  Deborah Borman, Jennifer Cooper, Mark Osbeck, Linda Shashoua

A full list of past grant recipients is available here